St. Joe's Cross Country Teams Sweep Skyline Championships

Fourteen eagles earn honors including individual champ & two rookies of the year.

Senior Christine Cristobal won the individual title for the second consecutive year and junior Brian Wersan finished second overall as the St. Joseph's Golden Eagles captured the men's and women's team titles last Thursday afternoon at the 2012 Skyline Cross Country Championships at Chadwick Lake Park in Newburgh. 

For the Lady Eagles, the victory marked their fourth consecutive Skyline title and the men's team brought home their third consecutive crown. 

Cristobal posted a winning time of 20:42.45 as the Golden Eagles seized their ninth women's title in program history. SJC (15 points) had the top six overall finishers, with junior Gillian Goodwin(20:53.20) earning runner-up distinction for the second straight year. 

Eagles freshman Brittany Guttieri placed sixth overall with a time of 21:20.26 and was named the 2012 Skyline Rookie of the Year for her efforts, while junior Rachel Sleeter of Mount Saint Mary placed seventh (21:31.58) to round out the All-Conference first-team. Declan Foley of Purchase garnered Women's Coach of the Year honors, while Mount Saint Mary received the Team Sportsmanship Award. 

On the men's side, St. Joseph's (28 points) captured its fourth crown in five years as Wersan was joined in the top 10 by teammates Mike Lombardi (fourth – 28:45.60), Jon Afanador (sixth – 28:58.91),Evan Haun (seventh - 29:39.03) and Paul Milazzo (ninth – 29:54.20). Wersan was named the 2012 Skyline Rookie of the Year, while Jim Crowley of St. Joseph's-L.I. was named the Men's Coach of the Year. In addition, Yeshiva took home the men's Team Sportsmanship Award on the men's side. 

Maritime freshman Cameron Coneys was the men's individual champion with a time of 28:04.52 to lead the Privateers to a second place finish. Sophomore William Frederic (28:42.19) of Farmingdale State placed third overall, while Sage freshman Juan Reyes-Alvarez (28:48.55) finished fifth. 

Yeshiva and Sage each finished with 93 points on the men's side, followed by Farmingdale State (119), Mount Saint Mary (132) and Old Westbury (222). 

Men's First-Team All-Conference
Cameron Coneys, Maritime (champion)
Brian Wersan, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Rookie of the Year)
William Frederic, Farmingdale State
Mike Lombardi, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Juan Reyes-Alvarez, Sage
Jon Afanador, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Evan Haun, St. Joseph's-L.I.

Men's Second-Team All-Conference
Luke Milano, Maritime
Paul Milazzo, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Gabriel Rosa, Maritime
Jesus Vasquez-Lopes, Sage
Rich Schimmel, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Bryan Kelly, Sage
Matt Taraboletti, Maritime

Women's First-Team All-Conference
Christine Cristobal, St. Joseph's-L.I. (champion)
Gillian Goodwin, St. Joseph's-L.I.
AnnMarie Zigrosser, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Maureen Quinn, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Caitlyn Ryan, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Brittany Guttieri, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Rookie of the Year)
Rachel Sleeter, Mount Saint Mary

Women's Second-Team All-Conference
Jessica Cowell, Mount Saint Mary
Melissa Bonilla, Farmingdale State
Jackie Bellisari, Maritime
Lauren Waka, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Mary Cipriano, St. Joseph's-L.I.
Nicole Zazzero, Mount Saint Mary
Jessica Hojohn, Purchase


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »