.

Question: Pedicabs?

Bicycle-powered cabs are now running in Patchogue Village. What are your thoughts?

The new Patchogue Pedicabs began throughout Patchogue Village this past weekend. What are your thoughts on the new business? Did you ride them during their debut at the ? How would you use the service?

Through the Looking Glass July 19, 2011 at 01:12 PM
I think they are a great idea that will fail. The novelty will wear off after a season or two and even at $1 per minute he won't be able to survive. They probably won't be running once the season ends and given that there are only 2 (?) the revenue generated is limited to a probable maximum of maybe $30 per hour each? Pay the driver a few bucks and I don't see this as a profitable venture. However, I would be VERY happy to be proven wrong. Patchogue is a village in flux, and while I may not agree with everything that is going on, I am very happy to see it excelling in the attraction department. My wife and I had dinner in town last week and were floored by the amount of foot traffic and it WASN'T an "alive after five night" (or we definitely wouldn't have been there!!)
john giannott July 19, 2011 at 01:54 PM
I think that this new business is a great idea, although the previous post is right about not making tons of money. The overhead is very low . This is exactly what Patchogue needs. I saw them this past weekend during the festival and I loved it. I think with the way patchogue is growing into a south shore powerhouse and parking becomes an issue this form of transformation from one restaurant to another is genius. Once you find a parking spot you can leave it there and have an affordable way to get around. John Giannott
Jonathan July 19, 2011 at 02:30 PM
This is an awesome idea. More efficient and attractive than a circulator van, and environmentally-friendly too. It has always been a frustrating problem to me that Shorefront Park and the Davis Park Ferry are just a little bit too far from downtown and the train station to be considered walkable, and the pedicabs are a great solution! This makes it even easier and less burdensome for people to take the train to Patchogue, as they do for Bay Shore, Babylon and Rockville Center.
Patchogue at the Bay July 19, 2011 at 08:30 PM
As a resident who regularly sees the cars and cabs recklessly speeding down to the bay to catch a ferry, it will be a welcome change. Maybe now my children will be able to cross the street without fearing for their lives!
Jessica Grieco July 20, 2011 at 12:40 AM
Fantastic idea! Go Patchogue!
Taina Unverzagt July 20, 2011 at 01:05 AM
I love the character of the pedicabs and that they provide another transportation solution. I would love a romantic pedicab ride in the dead of winter after the Holiday Parade over to Bella Vino for a drink. I think these help to reinforce the small town coziness of Patchogue while providing a useful service at the same time!
Robert F Edwards July 20, 2011 at 02:14 AM
I think its a great idea but a dollar a minute depends on how fast or slow your driver pedals could that become a bit expensive?
Robert F Edwards July 20, 2011 at 02:18 AM
Whats wrong with AAF?
Robert F Edwards July 20, 2011 at 02:25 AM
I am guessing that you are one of the AAF bashers? I have been to everyone of them and I have seen no fights public urination or any of the other negative comments that you people always seem to post I don't see whats wrong with a bunch of people listening to good music and enjoying some good BluePoint beer Just my opinion Plus it is great for the local buisness! Get over the people having a good time thing!
Travis July 20, 2011 at 04:06 PM
Love it!!!btw Live at 5 should be extended to the fall season when its not so hot. Maybe 3 more?
majortom1981 July 20, 2011 at 09:23 PM
Robert. Alive after 5 has TONS of people. So many you cant even walk down main street. also if you dont ge tthere at 530 there is no where to park. Its easier to skip the village that day and go to the village on saturday instead.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something